Best Friend, Lupita

Lupita-Nyongo-Ralph-LaurenB

Me & Lupita in Ralph Lauren

Hi. I’m Katoucha. We met a while ago. You probably don’t remember because it’s not often I appear in April’s blogs. You know, the fashion industry generally prefers “prettier” girls with longer hair.

Katoucha-in-bl-wht

Me in Lupita’s J.Mendel dress for Vogue.

April has always been in my corner, letting me know how beautiful I am. She told me she did not want me to wear a wig or a weave. She said I’m gorgeous just the way I am and that sometime soon, my day in the sun would come. And I believe her because look at actress, Lupita Nyong’O. Why, ever since she appeared in that stunning red gown for the Golden Globes, my popularity has soared!

April was so enamored by Lupita’s natural beauty and innate sense of style, she did an entire post inspired by dresses she’s worn on other red carpets as well as a stunning black & white dress in which she was photographed for Vogue magazine. And guess who was booked for that??!!  MOI!

And so you can say….me and Lupita are best friends….sort of.

No, I did not get to walk the catwalks in NY, London or Milan this season. April had bigger plans for me. I AM going to the Academy Awards Presentation tomorrow night and I WILL  appear on the red carpet right alongside of my new best friend, Lupita! And we WILL be dressed alike. That, I guarantee.

Can’t wait!!!! I’ll send you pictures.

Me and Lupita in our Gucci gowns!

Me and Lupita in our Gucci gowns!

4 responses to “Best Friend, Lupita

  1. Lupita at the Oscar’s is something…..however Lupita wearing J.Mendel is amazing!!!! I bet your genious created this little number out of a single strand of fabric having it come together as bow. However did you…… ?????
    Olympia

    • Thank you for the compliment, Olympia. The original J.Mendel dress was a sarong style garment, structurally drawn into a bow at the front. April was clever enough to figure out a simplified version which is actually in 2 parts: a strapless sheath dress with a large bow draped over the front!

Comments are closed.