The Luck of the Irish

St.-Paddys1Hi there. I’m Muriel. We haven’s seen each other in a while. I am over the moon, right now. April made me a GORGEOUS gown for Saint Patrick’s day, modeled after the Versace dress worn by Scarlett Johansson at last month’s Oscars. It is the most beautiful dress I’ve ever had. And even though it is green, April promised me I could still wear it for the next New Year’s Eve Ball.

That's me last year.

That’s me last year.

PFW1-Ann-Demeulemeester

Nadja looks stunning in her maxi dress.

This season, April diversified the models she used for the catwalk reports. Dolls like Pat, who haven’t seen a change in years and Nadja whose lanky proportions still pose problems for April, were selected for some really cool dolly designer wear. It just goes to show why good negotiations are necessary. We were trying to get April to use specific dolls for certain markets, but she explained that this is not realistic. In the human world top models work everywhere.

I would like to point out that I am the only Irish dolly in the house. (Can’t you tell by my red hair!) And though I don’t mind playing the Irish card where the Saint Patrick’s Day “fashion” blog post is concerned, I thought it would be nice to have a wee bit of family nearby. So I petitioned April to bring my cousin, Brie, into the household. It was no easy chore convincing her to do this.

Brie

My cousin, Brie.

Brie, incidently, was named after the character in the “Desperate Housewives” TV series. She has very stylized features indicative of 1950’s and early 60’s Haute Couture. I suppose this is another hard selling point in getting April to make Brie part of her team. All of our fashions here are contemporary. April says too many other doll fashion designers do that sort of fashion and do it very well.

Still, that didn’t deter me. I slipped a picture of cousin Brie onto April’s desk. “Very pretty,” she said, but I hardly use you. Why would I bring in another girl? Besides, I thought you dolls only wanted me to bring in guys.” Well that’s true, but still…other girls have brought over their family. So why not just one more girl! After a couple of weeks of constantly pushing this photo in April’s face without results, I enlisted the other dolls to help. Even the Barbies joined in, “Get Brie,” everyone chanted.

And so, after constant daily persistence, and, in spite of the added cost of brining in another Royal, at long last, we pressured April to give in. “You won’t be sorry,” I promised her. “In fact, I’m sure you’ll fall madly in love with her. She’ll be your birthday present, April.” And with that I returned to my place on the piano positively beaming, dressed in the most glamorous gown and necklace of my vinyl life! (Did you notice how it fits my curvy figure??!!)

I am very, very happy to announce that my very beautiful cousin, Brie is on her way from Dublin. Can’t wait to see you, my love. We’re gonna have a whale of a time!!!!Brie-Passport

One response to “The Luck of the Irish

  1. Beautiful redheads dressed in green—can’t go wrong. Luv all the designs.

Comments are closed.